Two main questions as a teen who is trying to learn web development

Hello freeCodeCamp Community,

I would like to say thank you for the free and useful course as well as the active community on the forum. I am a beginner web developer who just started development about a month ago. I am a 17-year-old high schooler who is interested in programming for determining if I want to do this as a major. I know I should learn to program for the experience. I know learning programming can take months. I really want a job where I can integrate my programming skills. I know there are freelancing websites where I can earn money. However, they seem intimidating projects because they require very experienced in skilled programmers. I have two main questions.

What are some other ways where I can start to earn money for the work I do? Should I focus on learning web development before trying to find a job?

I want to meet some people who share the same interest that I have in programming who roughly the same age to get me more motivated to learn. My school does not offer any programming classes. Do you guys have the idea where I could actually meet and program with people who roughly have the same programming skills?

Thanks for reading and answering my questions.

2 Likes

To answer your first question on earning money, your best bet would be focusing on local small businesses, and ONLY after you have a solid foundation of building websites. Making nice website is like making nice wedding cakes, no one likes crappy wedding cakes. It takes time, skill, and knowledge to build a good looking wedding cake, same with websites. Look at other websites that you really like and analyze why you like them, then implement that into your “style”.