Tips for a young aspiring developer

I am a high school sophomore looking to increase my programming knowledge more specifically in the web development area. Now given that there are obviously a lot of questions i have when entering the field of web development.

1.What was it like when you first started programming?
2.What age did you start to program?
3.I am also participating in FreeCodeCamp to hone my web development skills are there any other resource i should be using.
4.Do you have any tips for when you get stuck on something difficult. Also what your policy on using other people’s code?
5.Any other thing you might wanna add will be extremely useful any help is better than no help.

Thank you all

1. I was excited, I’ve never felt that power haha.
  2. I was 12 years old.
  3. Check @P1xt lists.
  4. Do something else, your brain will keep trying to solve the problem in the background. I use open source projects, so the author already knows people are going to use it.
  5. Have fun, you’re young, feel free to experiment with new technologies and don’t marry yourself to one.
1 Like

1. What was it like when you first started programming?

It was kind of hard. But, taking it day-by-day made it easier.

2. What age did you start to program

When I was about 12 yo, I learned a little basic Apple II programming, then stopped. When I was about 32 yo, I started learning programming again in college. When I was about 40 yo, I started in a Junior level ASP.Net MVC and SharePoint Developer position. When I was about 42 yo, my twilight years, I started my current position that is between a Junior and Mid level ASP.Net MVC and SharePoint Developer.

3. I am going through FreeCodeCamp learn React and Node development.

Besides FreeCodeCamp, I will be using Udemy, CodeCademy and Code School as additional training sources.

4a. Do you have any tips for when you get stuck on something difficult.