Wanting to change careers, but I’m overwhelmed

Sorry for the long post, but I’m a little overwhelmed and need some guidance. I’ve started seriously considering changing careers. The more I code the more I realize how much I’m enjoying it. So far I only have html, css and javascript (which I’m currently learning) so I’m not sure what I want to do within the industry, but I know I want to be a part of it. Currently, I have no experience in the computer / tech industry aside from just being a computer nerd lol. I am a retail store manager, and have an A.A in psychology.

I know that FCC isn’t going to be enough for me to land a position within the field, so I started to look at other ways to learn. I brought some books, incorporated videos and I’m working on different projects to start putting together a portfolio. I practice on a project and take my lessons everyday for at least an hour, on my days off I spend most of my day doing so as well. When I have a spare moment at work, I try to read one of the books. However, I still don’t think this will be enough. I’m dyslexic so math unfortunately is a challenge.

I’ve looked into the hack reactor bootcamp. My concern is that my job unfortunately isn’t very flexible (it changes from week to week so my schedule is never consistent) which makes it difficult to attend classes that are scheduled at certain times and the cost is a concern as well. So I looked into doing an online bachelors degree. Bellevue university has a software developer or a web developer degree, that I could do. Being 29 years old, I haven’t been in school in a long time so I’m afraid of taking out money, and not completing the program.

Any suggestions on what I can do to change careers?

1 Like

I think that you’re probably overwhelming yourself by trying to form a complete plan (I do this too).