What do I need to do to get ANY kind of Web Design job?

I am self-taught through Udemy courses, a Responsive web design course by Kevin Powell, and working my way through the freeCodeCamp lessons. I did build the WordPress theme for my website (kernixwebdesign.com) but there is so much to learn and I don’t know where to start.

How/where do I create an online portfolio? Codepen, GitHub, Figma, other? And what do I put in my portfolio? Does anyone have an online portfolio that I could look at?

There were a number of jobs I wanted to apply for but I was lacking experience in either JavaScript or WordPress plugin dev. I was working on learning some JS APIs so I could at least put that on my resume. I have a decent custom video and audio player on CodePen but which APIs do I learn next?

I need help finding something that will give me some kind of income and experience. I got laid-off from my job in 2007 after 12 years of Inventory/Supply-chain experience and then I started a pet sitting business. But the lockdowns killed that pet business. I am so disheartened with my present situation.

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated ~ thanks!

1 Like

There is no perfect place to start. Just keep learning and building things.

How/where do I create an online portfolio? Codepen, GitHub, Figma, other?

Definitely not codepen. It is a great place to mess around with things, but it is not a place to display professional work. Github is just a code repository. There is Git Pages that will let you host a static site - that could work. I think it’s better to create your own “real” site. I’m not familiar with Figma.

And what do I put in my portfolio? Does anyone have an online portfolio that I could look at?

There are plenty of sites out there. FCC even has a challenge in the curriculum to build a basic portfolio. If you search the forum you will find many discussions about this.