What do you do during mass layoffs?

Hi everyone,

My Twitter feed in the last few days has been flooded with now-former Google devs being laid off. This is on top of all the layoffs that have happened in the last year. I’ve been on this self-taught journey for about 6 months now (mostly MERN, a little AR/VR and machine learning). As someone looking for their first position, all this news is a little destabilizing.

Experienced devs, have you ever been through layoffs at any of your companies? How did you respond? Do you have some practical / realistic advice for finding a new job at your level or at an entry level, based on your experiences?

Junior devs / those still searching, how are you processing this news? What steps are you taking if any to avoid being laid off?

I’m concerned about where all these jobs are going to be reabsorbed. Also how these layoffs are happening so close to developments in AI and automation … would love to have discuss with others how they’re moving through this!

1 Like

These are faceless shareholder driven decisions affecting masses of people, which are dictated by wider industry trends. They’re not based on individual employee performance. Failing companies and business models are the driver.

Unfortunately it’s not within your hands to determine whether you remain employed. I’ve seen extremely competent and valuable employees be made redundant en masse for no other reason than cost cutting.

3 Likes