What is the most straightforward way to get a web dev job?

Hi everyone, new here. I reviewed the curriculum and began the introductory lessons. I know python and did a few unfinished projects with it before (really basic ones with pygame and even tried godot). I also completed the following khan academy studies; Unit: Intro to JS: Drawing & Animation, and most of Unit: Advanced JS: Games & Visualizations. I also begin studying basic java soon in my university yet my degree is not in CS.

I actually code for perhaps 4 years on and off, never have completed a useful project (my total experience is perhaps 3 months). The main reason is that I need to know that I’m working when coding to stay motivated and since it is so difficult to get a first job, I got in a loop of trying and quitting. This time however, I think that for me, getting a job first and seeing myself as a programmer professional is what will allow me to continue to progress in this technology path.

A friend web developer told me, that as far as general software development is concerned (this is what I’m interested in), web development is the easiest to get into and has the highest chance of getting a job. That’s what landed me here. My question in regards to web development is what is the most straightforward way to get a job? And should I complete the entire curriculum here or only parts of it?

Finally, I understand there is a good projected growth for web development in the next 10 years. Due to automation, do you think it will be valuable as the aforementioned statement says in the following 10 years?

Thanks.

Hey @Borboro!

It almost seems like you hoping a job will fix your issues of not being to finish something and I don’t think that is going to be the case. I really think you should focus on finishing a project first.