Is it getting harder to get a Web Development Job?

My sister says that programming jobs are becomming more competitive as more people get into the field.
When I googled this question, I got mixed answers. However, most of the results said that Web Development is growing and in demand. Of course, its especially hard to get any job if all you have is 2 years of teaching yourself and a solid portfolio.
What do you guys think? Is it getting harder to get jobs in this field? If you have gotten a job, how hard was it? What did you have to do?
Also, do you have any suggestions for what I can do to help me get a job?

i think itā€™s growing. when you factor the number of bootcamp grads, self-taught, and CS grads, itā€™s becoming more competitive. but thereā€™s always availability for real talent. that said, landing that first job is always the hardest

Itā€™s extremely regional, but the skill gap is growing. If youā€™re in the US, you can look at the US Bureau of Labor and Statistics Employment Projections yourself.

This probably should be obvious, but what is the Skill Gap? What does it have to do with getting a web development job?

The term ā€˜skill gapā€™ refers to the difference between the number of jobs which require a specialized skill and the number of people who have that skill. Nationally, there are more jobs being created that require skilled programmers than there are skilled programmers entering the job market. What this has to do with getting a development job is that there are more programming jobs then there are qualified people to fill them (in other words, there is negative unemployment).