What's my next step?

Hi. So, I’ve finished:

• Basic HTML and HTML5
  • Basic CSS
  • Applied Visual Design
  • Applied Accessibility

I don’t really know how much of the information I’ve retained. Should I continue on with the next lesson (Responsive Web Design Principals) or should I try to apply what I’ve learned so far to a project?

Thank you!!

I would learn responsive design at least.

Then if your project is a simple static page you’re in good shape to start. If you have a more dynamic app in mind then I would learn node.js first so that you can have user accounts, or whatever else.

If you’re excited to start a project though just do what you want, see how far you can get, its good practice and its fun.

Thanks for the response!

I’m a newbie at all this and I don’t really have a project in mind. I just hear that applying what you learn is the best way to learn. Any suggestions on how to do that? I’ll follow your instruction and finish responsive design, though, before moving on to a “project”.

Thanks again.

if you want to start, you should be able to complete at least the first of the five projects in the certificate, and if I remember correctly also the second. The others require some use of responsive techniques (media queries, flex, grid)

don’t be afraid to use the Read-Search-Ask method and google stuff or go back to the challenges if you don’t remember stuff

Thanks for your response. I just realized that the last course in the curriculum are challenges to complete. I didn’t see that before.

So, if I go ahead and work on the challenges, is that something that I can record somewhere to show others that I’ve completed them?

Thanks again for your insight.

Sure. You can start a personal blog, or a dev.to account or a twitter and talk about your stuff. E.g. I did a 25 part series on Node, Express and PostgreSQL last year and a 30 part series on some code challenges this year on dev.to and my personal blog.