Which physical book to learn JavaScript from for absolute beginners who only know HTML and CSS?

Hi. I am new to this amazing beginner friendly community. I know HTML/CSS and now trying to learn JavaScript. It would be my first ever “real” programming language. I would like some suggestions of books that teach from bottom-up, from the basics all the way up to more advanced things. I searched up beginner books but many of them seem to assume one or more of (A) You know the basics of JavaScript (B) You are a programmer coming to JavaScript from some other language © You know the fundamentals of programming. Some books for instance that operate under these assumptions or are too terse for me are Eloquent JavaScript, The Good Parts, You Don’t Know JS, Speaking JS, The Definitive Guide. My aim is to be able to learn React/Angular after learning JS and be able to build web apps and websites. What physical print book recommendation would you thus give to a complete novice to programming and JavaScript (I don’t know the fundamentals of programming and don’t know any programming language or JavaScript) who only has HTML/CSS basics down? The book should start from the absolute fundamentals/basics of JavaScript and follow ES6 or later and thus published after June 2015 (recent) when ES6 was finalized.

My advice would be to learn basics of JavaScript here on freeCodeCamp and read book or take a course about general programming fundamentals (non JS-specific).

What if I 100% need and want a javascript introductory book?

Hi!

You could ask “forum search” they are some threads on the subject :slight_smile:

Note / JavaScript book for absolute beginner

Then I would suggest Eloquent JavaScript

2 Likes

I checked it but they recommend es5 books. I need es6 book @Groucha

Exploring ES6

But I’m doubt it is “beg friendly”

So learn basics from an old es5 book like a smarter way to learn javascript or head first javascript AND then read exploring es6? @Groucha