Would you work for free for the experience?

To make a long story short, a person I know is trying to start a startup. He knows that I’m studying web development, so he contacted me and asked if I would like to work.

Here’s the thing though. He said that so far it’s not making any profits yet, so we’ll all be working for free and depending on external sources for income. He says he thinks it’s still valuable in my case for the experience, and that it would look attractive on my resume when I say I worked at a successful startup. At first I agreed, but now that I think about it, I’d basically have two jobs; one that pays really low, and another that pays nothing whatsoever, which obviously will leave me little time for anything else.

I’m determined to get into the industry, and so far my study path has been going really well (one of P1xt’s guides), which quite honestly I think is more than enough to get me ready for a paying job without having to work for free.

Now after thinking about it for a bit, I’m not sure I’d want to be working for free. I thought I’d ask what you guys think. Is he trying to use me? Should I tell him that if there’s no money in this then I’m out?

Depends what is he offering. Personally if some interesting project is in on the table and good set of technologies and he is willing to help you, mentor you, don’t think about it too much go for it. Later you will be able to state that project in your resume and you will have hands-on experience that will bring you money later. If he is serious - go for it, my advice.

1 Like