I got a Front End Developer Job! Here is my Story

This forum for the last year has been a source of inspiration, and show’d me that with hard-work, dedication, and a little bit of luck, anything is possible. I thought a long time about what I would say if this day ever came. I will try to make this as brief as possible, but I cant promise anything.

This past week, I found out that I was the successful candidate for a front end developer role at a marketing agency that serves millions of customers where I live. I am over-whelmed, and frankly a little terrified to even start my job, but I am also DAMN excited. This is my story.

Background

I have spent the majority of my life post university working in various sales and retail roles. I graduated with a BA in Political Science. I worked at banks as a teller, I sold insurance for a bit, and for the last 3 years worked as a travel agent. I think the only line of code I ever wrote was in MS Dos when a buddy of mine like 8 years ago showed me how to open a program using the command line. But I was basically always doing sales jobs. I was always good at talking with people, but sales became more and more soul sucking for me. I wanted to acquire a real skill set, not only one which was in demand, but something that I enjoyed.

The Start

My brother and I were on vacation last year, and started discussing the idea of getting into web development. I always assumed you needed a computer science background to get into software / web development. When I saw that was in fact not true, I started to teach myself the basics of front end web development, through FCC as well as many other resources including youtube and Udemy. There is a wealth of great resources out there at your disposal, and it can be a little over whelming to choose. I made sure I read reviews on the courses I was taking, because I really wanted to hear about what other people had to say about the courses, projects, instructors, etc.