20+ Years, no tech experience, trying to switch industries and career path

So I’ve got about 20 years of full time work experience since quitting graduate school, but none of it is really in the tech world. I’ve learned some skills (SQL Queries in MySQL, SQL Server, the Adobe basics i’m probably intermediate) but not a whole lot that is helpful for a developer job. I know I have to build up a portfolio / github repository of projects to demonstrate that I know what I’m doing in the development side, but how does one format their resume so that they can indicate they’ve been working for a while but demonstrate they have the skills for the job they are applying for at the same time.

I’ve been looking for a combination of career counselor / ‘head hunter’, type in person or online that could somehow help me not on craft the resume but help me figure out the best way to find a new job. I’m willing to relocate almost anywhere in the United States and work on pretty much any industry. I just really wanna work on code full time.

Anyone got any pointers in the right direction?

First I’d tell you to figure out what kind of a developer you want to be. Front/Back End, fullstack… Switching from one to another later on is easy. Then build a few projects that demo your skills.
I’d recommend attending a hackathon - no matter which path you choose (there is a shhhhhload of those happening). And contributing to some open source projects takes you further too.
If you got a few things to back you up ‘online’ it’s getting easier to say ‘I’ve been around, I already know some stuff’.

1 Like

I know that I want to be a developer - which is back end - and not a designer - front end - my primary stack would be rails based but I’m finding that JS is asked of even of junior rails developers hence why I’m here.

Part of my issue is time - i work 45 hours a week at a ‘full time’ non tech related job so i have to build my skills in that.