About fake Linkedin recruiters?

Hey guys!

I’m not an expert of LinkedIn, so sometimes I see odd stuff and don’t understand what is going on.

For example, I have a lot of “recruiters” adding me and most of them they message me with the same template message. Something like “How are you finding the market” or “My client is looking for X”. And then when you reply, they just disappear (?). Basically, this kind of person looks nearly identical to the other ones (by the way they write).

Also, I found one case particulary weird. A man added me, we talked a little bit and then that conversation finished (he seemed a “real” person). A few months later, this person talks to me again (as we never talked before, using one of this templates I mention before), but under a name of a woman, with a photo of a woman that looks nothing like the man before. In my chat, obviously I can see that we talked before, but with them using a different name, surname, photo, profile data…

My question is, what do these people get out of this? Is there a scam scheme or something? I find it very strange because I don’t see them trying to scam me or anything, but I don’t know, they are like bots.

Not to mention that there is also those people who tell you details about the job, ask for you email to send you more details, and they never do. But suddenly you start receiving spam from jobs that have nothing to do with what are you looking for.

At this point, I cannot differenciate a genuine person/recruiter from a fake one.

What are your thoughts? I’m sure this has happened to you as well. How do you know when a person is real?

I started to reject invitations from people that I think they are not real but I don’t want to reject real recruiters.

Hello,

your experience is not out of the norm unfortunately. The “recruiter” with a different name and picture while having the same pitch? Scummy as hell, block them please!