Advent of Code 2018

Time spent: I started this late, and even then it took me way longer than 25 days to complete.

Difficulty: I’ve taken DS&A in C++ and in Java, and have been a hobbyist programmer since I was 8. I’ve only really been head-in on Web Development for a year, with a six-month break in the middle. Several problems (that took me days to solve) made me want to to rage-quit.

Learning: Every single time I was stuck, it was because I either:

1. Didn’t remember the use case for a specific data structure (i.e.: when to use a linked list over an array)
  2. Had never heard of the necessary/optimal data structure which would allow my program to finish in non-astronomical time.

Caution/Caveat: If you are a complete novice, this isn’t the way. But, if you are coming from other languages and have some experience with higher-level programming concepts, this is a fun set of challenges with a great subreddit to help you get unstuck. For example, somebody tried to use Rust’s vector processing and their monster i7 CPU to run all 25 days’ worth of programs in under a second to teach themselves Rust.

*PROGRESS: I went in as a Secondary/Tertiary Expert in Javascript syntax (see below), and have come out as a Secondary/Primary. I’ve also become a secondary/primary in git. There are still concepts I need to learn, but the sheer amount of coding I’ve done has made it so that I waste far less time testing code to see whether it will do what I want, and more time pseudocoding and implementing, smoothing out runtime errors usually on the first go.

Types of Experts (per my Discrete Math professor):

1. Primary - Knows the answer.
  2. Secondary - Knows where to look up the answer.
  3. Tertiary - Knows who to ask for the answer.

If anyone finds themself in a similar situation, and is stuck, I’ll be happy to provide non-spoiling hints.

3 Likes

Hey there, @ilenia!

Still stuck on day 3? (don’t worry about spoilers. We have tags for that)