Advice on my career

Hello guys, I am currently a freshman taking a Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering. The first time I got into programming I fell in love with it and never stopped learning ever since. I also joined a robotics competition and love being technical sometimes. I did not choose computer engineering because I want to become a computer engineer, I chose it because I want to know more about how technology works and be a part of the evolution of it especially computers. Am I making the right decision in taking BSCpE?

Sure, if you like it, it seems to be the way to go.

and if you want to be part of sth that “changes the world”, you need to find yourself a project which has a promising impact where you can contribute and play an important role.

I have build a remote communication & collaboration solution with some “missing links” for helping “the machine” to better understand human communication - and in the very near future this/such a solutions will

1. help the locally distributed teams with their work

2. collect all data from communication & collaboration

3. analyze the situation of the project, the team, the individuals - and identify the great ideas and solution so they can be suggested to others being in comparable situations.

1 Like

Back when I was younger I was looking into the type of careers I could get into when I was older. I knew I liked technology, and understood that technology was the future. So I looked around a few degrees and careers to get an idea of what was out there. I eventually broke things down to basically 3 categories, each with their own pros and cons.

1. Computer Engineering - focused more on the hardware and lower level, closer to the machine.
  2. Computer Science - focused more on the software and higher level, closer to the user and further from the machine.
  3. IT - focused more on the “human interaction with computing”.