Any Scrum Masters out there?

Hey Everybody!

Just wondering if there are any Scum Masters our there? I ask because in addition to learning code here on FCC, I am also a teacher. I recently came across the position of Scrum Master and thought a lot of my skills as a facilitator of learning would be readily transferable to the SM role. I’d welcome input from anybody on this notion of mine. Specifically, how likely is it to get a SM position without a deeper tech background, i.e. should I continue to work on my coding, which is still at a fundamental level, or is it feasible to leverage what I consider are my transferable skills and get my foot in the door now?

Thanks!

1 Like

I worked in a scrum environment for a little while. We didn’t have a scrum master per se, but we had a senior and project manager managing the tasks. I’d be willing to guess you’d have to be pretty tech competent to become a scrum master. That being said it doesn’t hurt to give it a shot anyways.

1 Like

Thanks for the response. That’s where I’m kind of ending up…it wouldn’t hurt to try…although part of me thinks it might hurt to try in that the time spent job hunting and trying to convince people that I have the requisite skills might be better used continuing to learn to code, which would get my foot in the tech industry door, and at that point I’d be better positioned to make the SM argument. Swings and roundabouts, I guess.

There was a good Codenewbie podcast with a scrum master a while back:

https://www.codenewbie.org/podcast/scrum-master

2 Likes

Sorry to be blunt here but you should have zero chance of getting a job as a scrum master because it’s not a job. It’s a role taken on by someone in a team to ensure the daily scrum stays on track. Ideally it should be a senior developer on the team: they need to be able to judge what is important, and need a level of respect that allows them to shut down unimportant avenues of conversation.