Any software engineers willing to share their journey?

Hey guys, beginner here. I’d like to know what happened in between learning your first language and getting your job.

How did you come up with a project to build. Did you search online or did you always have something in mind?

1 Like

There are several software engineers here who have shared their stories both on the forum and through the freeCodeCamp publication.

Hey there :wave:

My story is quite long but I’ll attempt to share a condensed version here :slight_smile:

When I first decided that I was going to be a programmer I looked for tutorials on how to make simple games. I started to see YouTube videos come up showing how to make trivia games using Batch which is a scripting language on Windows systems with the main purpose to automate tasks.

It’s definitely not something you should learn but I did and I made a bunch of simple games and would keep adding to them. Gradually the complexity would go up until I hit a point where I couldn’t make changes to the code without breaking something.

What was cool about making programs with .bat files is that the company I worked for at the time provided me with a computer near my workstation so I could access SAP (I was a CNC programmer and operator at the time, and I don’t really count CNC as programming when reflecting on my career btw).

So I was able to get away with coding sometimes between cycle times since all Windows PC’s have Notepad and Batch :smiley:

But I soon moved on to searching for more game dev tutorials and stumbled on a series that showed how to create simple RPG games in Visual Basic. So I followed along and tried to take what I learned from that to create my own RPG game, eventually hitting a point where I caused a literal Stack Overflow Exception and I kid you not… that’s how I found stackoverflow.com