Anything is possible

Hello!

First off, I want to thank Quincy Larson for starting this amazing community and curriculum. I also want to thank all the Free Code Campers for being a part of this community. I have learned a ton from others and I also had the chance to return the favor and help others out.

I’m currently a full-time college student majoring in Computer Science. I’m one of the “lucky ones” who has had prior coding experience. I first touched code at the age of 13 through a website called CodeAcademy. I started off learning HTML, CSS, and Python (though I focused on Python) and when the learning curve got steep, I did what most people have done: I decided to drop Python and switch to an “easier” programming language. I went through this cycle for the next five years, until I came across Free Code Camp.

When I first started Free Code Camp, I found myself in a very rough position: I was a full-time college student who was homeless due to an unstable job situation. My goal was to finish my front-end developer certification as soon as possible and try to land a front-end developer job locally. Each day I browsed through Craigslist applying to a plethora of jobs – even some I knew I would hate – to better my housing situation.