Best practices in HTML, CSS?

Hi everyone!

I’m new here! Even though I have a degree in computer science (10 years ago) I never did any web development and that’s why I’m here.

I did my very first challenge here which was quite sloppy:
Tribute page challenge

Are there some general best practices you guys follow in terms of how I should structure the elements in the HTML? For example, should I try to divide all elements into their own separate <div> tags?

Hey @waleedfateem , my experience is a little similar to yours degree in computer science (5 years ago) but hardly did any web development. Anyways, you can have a look at the links below and take your time and go through them.Your tribute page is good,nice job :+1:. Don’t worry too much about being sloppy, eventually with time and practice you will go from sloppy to awesome.

1. The Little Book of HTML/CSS Coding Guidelines
  2. Google HTML/CSS Style Guide
  3. High-level advice and guidelines for writing sane, manageable, scalable CSS
1 Like

Awesome tribute :smiley:

I’d say the most important thing right now is to keep your style and your markup separate. Don’t use inline styles, and don’t use <i> or <b> tags for styling. I would definitely not advise you to separate all of your elements into <div>s, but it certainly helps to logically group elements within them.

4 Likes

@azdrian @PortableStick Thanks for the pointers! I really appreciate it.

Another thing I was struggling with is finding a good reference for all the different classes in Bootstrap. I found this one that will probably come in handy: