Can I become a full-stack developer with FCC?

Hello everyone,

I’m a very newbie here. I’m reading the new FCC’s curriculum and don’t know if I can become a full-stack web developer with it. So I would like to have some questions:

1. Do I have to study the certifications in order?
  2. Until what certification can I be considered a full-stack web developer?
  3. Is it correct that I can’t take the old curriculum?

Thank you!

If you complete the entire curriculum, I think it would be fair to call yourself a full-stack developer. To the extent “full-stack developer” is even a well-defined term, the curriculum here matches what people mean by that term.

2 Likes

Like Matthew said you get the knowledge to be a fullstack dev. Now I would call myself a fullstack dev only when someone pays me to do that job.

1 Like

By the time you finish the entire curriculum and get the full stack certification, you’ll be able to create an app using Mongo, Express, React and Node.js, which means end-to-end development in a limited framework. You could technically say, “I’m a full stack developer”, but it wouldn’t matter much to a development team looking for people to join them ready to produce, especially if they weren’t developing using the so-called MERN stack.

As someone who just completed the final certificate last month, you will have all the tools necessary to be a full-stack developer.

One thing I felt was missing from the FCC curriculum is some kind of ‘full-stack final project’, or capstone project if you will.

You could technically build the back end projects with front end as well, but i’m not sure if that’s intended.

2 Likes

Thank everyone!
Sorry I have one more question: so at what certification I can be a front-end web developer? I think it’s Data Visualization, right?

1 Like