Career Path Question

I’d love nothing more than to work within the games industry. Long hours, crap pay, unappreciated work - I have no delusions as to the difficulty and pains a career in game development can entail and none of that matters to me as long as I’m able to work on games at some level. That’s the main goal.

However, calling my current financial state abysmal would be the understatement of the century and I need to start making money now. I don’t have time to sit on my hands for 3 - 6 months learning a language while building a game dev portfolio. My initial thought was to go into web development, where all of my current coding experience lies. I know HTML5, CSS3, vanilla JavaScript, jQuery, enough PHP to build sites and plugins through WordPress, and a small bit of Python. I’m entirely self-taught and frankly a terrible visual artist. I can take a PSD site mockup and bring it to life, but ask me to make something from scratch and you’d probably disapprove.

The problem with web development is that it’s a full-time career path in-and-of itself. There’s AngularJS, ReactJS, Node.JS, Babel, TypeScript, dozens of other languages and frameworks that are touted as required to know through-and-through and on top of the code you’re expected to be a phenomenal web designer too.

Long-winded rant cut short, it feels like trying to work in web development is just going to leave me delaying any hope of a game dev career and I could possibly even find myself stuck in a career I don’t really want to be in.

Is there a way for me to start making money now, through freelance or entry level employment, where I can also learn and practice with the languages and tools necessary for a career game development?