Career success after Learning through FCC

I want to tell my coding career story here in hopes that transparency will help motivate others who are working towards a better career. I started learning to code on FCC in January of 2018. It was part of my new year goals. I started going through the front-end curriculum. I was working as a pharmacy tech and worked 40 hr/week and was making anywhere from $58k-62k/year doing that. I live in Salt Lake City UT and that seemed like a decent income there. I started dating my wife in 2018 and started snowboarding that year too so I didn’t spend a ton of time each week to learning to code probably less than 10 hours per week.
In Feb of 2019 I got laid off from my pharmacy tech job. I knew that if I wanted to get another pharmacy tech job I’d only get $30k/year. I felt pretty confident in my coding abilities and started applying seriously to tech jobs so that I could make basically as much or more than what I was making in my job that laid me off.
I started applying to more jobs per week and after about 2 months of searching I was desperate to get a coding job. I found a position at a University about 40 minutes south of where I was living and they would pay me $17/hr for 28 hours/week. I would meet with Professors and help spruce up their websites. It was a custom cms app and I only touched html and css. I wouldn’t get health insurance or benefits but I would get employee benefits like one university class for free per semester after my six month mark. I didn’t hit my 6 month mark. I ended up working there for 3 weeks. The weekly pay was a little bit better than my unemployment checks.