Changing careers

Hi!

I’ve been middle school IT Teacher for the past 15 years, and I’m considering to switch to IT industry. The oversized classrooms, the negative student behaviors, the excessive work load, the poor work conditions and the very low income are the mainly causes. I don’t know where to start, and I really appreciate some guidance. I have no experience in the tech industry, aside from being a middle school IT Teacher. I’ve been trying to understand what should I do to find an entry-level job, essencially, what is best technology, tool or language to learn in the current IT industry for a long and good career, but all jobs I’ve seen require you to already have experience. What should I do?
Thank you in advance for your time, and looking forward to hearing from someone soon!

Hello,

out of interest: What exactly do you teach as an IT teacher?

Your experience plus getting CompTIA A+ certified could already be enough to land an It-support role, as a fast way into the industry.

Working from there you could plan your future path: Software development, or stay on the operation side and move into careers like cloud admin.

I don’t think we can offer much advice without more information. Many of us are from primarily English speaking countries where “IT” is a different career field than programming. IT usually refers more to physical systems and the jobs would include things like systems administration, network administration, security, and in-house tech support and device management. Most of the expertise here will be with programming careers, especially software development.

What are your current professional skills? What subjects are you teaching students? (When I was in school our only technology class was typing, so I don’t have a frame of reference.) What type of job are you imagining changing to? If it is the same skillset as what you are teaching children, then that teaching experience is valid experience.

1 Like