Changing Carreers

Hi! I’m a 25yo civil engineer not happy with my profession. I dit not identify myself doing this professionally.
In my graduation, I had some classes of Programing (Portugol/Pascalzim, a brazilian language I think), Statistics and Calculus of course, so I think I have a nice foundation to start studying for programing in a professional way.

I’ve always had the urge to learn Python, BUT I don’t know if its the right way to start and If I will be frustrated or overwhelmed.

I don’t have any preferences of languages, or if i want back or front end (i’m really starting planing today).

SO, I want your help to give me a north!

Thanks I advance for all those who read this :slight_smile:

Python is propably one of the easiest langauges to learn and still very powerful.
While it will teach you some “wrong” concepts, I’d say if you ever come to need the right way, it’s not to hard to pick up later on and the fact you can relativly easy get working programs in Python is much more motivating for the start, than having to think about every nook and cranny of how a computer-memory works.

Though FCC focuses on JavaScript for the start. Which is very similar to Python, so no big deal. The language doesn’t really matter, the core concepts are the same everywhere (there are exceptions but those are exceptionally rare used in the working world).

As an engeneer, I’d assume you got the technical knowhow and intelligence to quickly grasp programming. So that shouldn’t be an issue. Statistics and Calculus might not come into handy all to much, unless you got into something like DataAnalytics or DataScience. But computers are math-machines, so understanding these concepts certainly doesn’t hurt. As I’m no engeneer myself, no idea if there are some programming applications where you could use your previous professional knowledge.