Do i need a CMS like Wordpress? Websites for local businesses

Hey,

I’m pretty new to webdevelopment and I have a question about my basic understanding of creating websites.

So I already created a few websites for my own learning and so I understand the basics of HTML/CSS/Javascript. But one thing that I can’t seem to find a answer for is how do I build a website for a local business, like a small carpentry business, so they can manage the website on their own?

For example if they built some new projects for customers they want to update their website to show off the new builds. With my current websites they would have to contact me so that I manually update their website within the code.

My first thought was a CMS like wordpress. Where I solely design the website and the customer himself can make future updates to the website to show off their new projects with the wordpress tools.

Is this really the only way to create such websites? Or are there some more “lightweight” custom CMS options?

I hope this question isn’t too dumb, I just can’t wrap my head around it right now. Since I’d like to focus on new projects in the future and not having to only add a few images to existing websites.

1 Like