Employment outside my country

Hello, I am a graduate developer in Venezuela. I entered freecodecamp with the intention that my knowledge have international validity and so to get a job outside my country. Currently I have a job in my country but I am not well paid, things in Venezuela become increasingly worse and do not think this can improve the short term. Could recommend me which way to go to achieve my goal? Excuse my English and I’m learning and help with google translate. Thank you for reading!

2 Likes

What about remote work (portals like https://www.upwork.com/ work for it perfectly) or looking for job offers that usually offer relocation costs on Linked in?

You can also apply to the companies directly, very often they have job offers on the page.

Apart from that you may look for job at services you use while coding or learning new stuff about code/ design (stackoverflow, css tricks, even pages like tech related blogs offer nowadays sections devoted to work).

To apply anywhere I think more useful than any certificate is the attitude, portfolio, references, some small side projects showing you care and problem solving skills. Any missing knowledge can always be learnt. Certificates are useful but not the most important.

2 Likes

UpWork is a great place to test your skills and meet a lot of interesting people, that can teach you a lot of new, very usefull staff.

1 Like

I just registered in www.upwork.com. I honestly never even apply by linkedin and when I have a profile.

I’ll start to apply directly pages too.

And if sometimes I think what I need is more attitude. Thank you very much for answering!