Freelancing advice

Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to share they’re experiences freelancing? I am a junior developer (front end mainly, still learning tho :grinning:) and I was looking into freelancing through Upwork or another site…but I was curious how many of you have tried it and if it has been successful for you? I live in a rural community and would love to work remotely as there is not a lot of job opportunities here otherwise.

If any of you all would be willing to share your story here - that would be wonderful! Thanks I’m advance!

Just another note - I’ve applied for numerous junior developer jobs out there…and I haven’t even had one interview! I don’t fit the typical mold and I don’t have a university degree in CS or some related field. It’s honestly been really difficult for me not to find work in the job I love!

Hi CandiW, 19+ years freelancing/running my own webdev business (and other online ventures). I’ve shared my experiences here and there here on FCC. Just look into my post archive.

I’ve never done Upwork. I think they’re a race to the bottom in terms of pricing. But if cost of living in your country is low, and you’re getting Western/European clients, you can make a good living charging customers U.S. Dollar$. Otherwise, it would be hard to make a living wage. There are some exceptions, but most will not.