Feedback for my "FreeCodeCamp:Build a Tribute" exercise Page that I created about Guido

Here is the CodePen Page.

Looks like you just copy/pasted the example. That isn’t necessarily a “bad thing,” especially if you didn’t just copy/paste but searched through the Bootstrap documentation to find the same elements. But, I would have loved to see your own interpretation of it. :slight_smile:

It works and looks especially nice on mobile since your photo is portrait.

1 Like

@cbirk Thanks for your feedback! The thing is that I am a backend developer and totally new to front-end, and I know that my design absolutely sucks. My sense of colors, dimensions, spacing, typography, etc. is very wrong, so I just copied that example rather than reinventing the wheel.

What can I do to become a better front-end developer? To get a better sense of design?

Aw man that’s okay. It’s always good to know what you need to improve and avoid, like you said, reinventing the wheel.

I think it might help to think about ~design~ as simply optimizing something for human eyes. Just like you want your code to be concise and efficient, good design conveys a message in the most efficient way. And that doesn’t necessarily translate into minimalism-forever, it just depends on the person/brand/whatever and the image they want to project. I hope that makes sense. For example: if your website colors are clashing, your visitor’s brain has to do extra work to figure out what your website is all about because those colors are to the eyes what a wailing siren is to the ears.