Feedback on my first (failed) interview and project

Hi everyone,

After about 6 months of learning I decided to start showing my portfolio around a bit. I sent it to 5 job offers and the same day I got an interview.

The interview went ok I suppose, I wanted to be honest about me being self taught, only studying web developing for half a year, no previous profesional experience (all things I mentioned in the e-mail I sent requesting the job). So the interviewer told me to do something and we would see how that goes.

A few hours later I received this:

And in the mail it said, you can use Bootstrap if you want, and you must use Sass.

I have never used Sass before, it was on my learning queue, so I learn about it for 2 hours. I got the file Monday morning and Tuesday evening I sent him 2 files back, a static one done with Bootstrap and one responsive done without it:

Boostrap: https://sergioca87.github.io/test-interview-bt/

Responsive: https://sergioca87.github.io/Test-interview/

I’m sure it’s full of flaws and all but the thing is, they received the files and replied with “ok, we’ll take a look and let you know”…After a week I sent an e-mail asking if they had a chance to see it and showing interest for the selection progress etc. Another week goes by and nothing, it’s been now about 15 days.

My question is, after just 6 months, doing this in a day and a half, is it that bad that is not even worth a reply? I wish they explained what could have been done better or differently.

Thank you for any feedback.

Edit

Link to repos: https://github.com/SergiOca87/Test-interview
https://github.com/SergiOca87/test-interview-bt

I’m no developer but can at least answer this much: it doesn’t mean anything. If it did, lots of people out there who send hundreds (not 5) of applications and receive possibly 5 copy/pasted refusal email with no given reason would jump off the window.

As for me, I’m impressed with your results.