Finally Got A Job!

I’m pleased to say that I’ve finally gotten a job as a full stack react developer. It’s been a real struggle for the last 2 and a half years, doing this stuff part time and basically fighting the constant self doubt, but here I am :slight_smile: I can finally get out of my career as a musician, and have health care, and pay off my student loans, and all that stuff. I can’t express how utterly relieved i feel, and simultaneously, so excited to get to experience a brand new career.

For those still on the journey and curious how I did it:
I was entirely self taught using Free Code Camps full stack curriculum, Lynda.com through my local library (for free), and Chingu.io.

FWIW: In my interview, in the not “1 hour of tech oral exam” part, they were most interested in my work related experience in regards to being in a team. They wanted to know what experiences ive had working with and fixing other peoples bugs, working in sprints, and lastly if i’ve ever worked with legacy code. I really think my experience in chingu was huge help in giving me something to talk about in this regard.

And just to be clear, the only reason I got this interview was because I had met someone from a similar background who was willing to push hard for me to get the interview at his company. I’ve applied to quite a few places to no responses, until this. So with that in mind, I highly recommend networking through meetups and hackathons as a more viable strategy to getting a job than anything else i’ve tried. Keep in mind how many people are graduating meetups now a days. How on earth can we FCC’ers stand out above them without having someone on the inside vouching for us?

Lastly, here is a collection of advice / links i’ve composed for anyone looking for help with the path of being a full stack dev: https://docs.google.com/document/d/19ZLd4zdvpnCB9RXj2VpYy98Ib-ek7nQc7Yj_CYwjkZE/edit?usp=sharing

Good luck everyone :smiley: