Freelance to gain experience

Here’s a little bit about my background thus far:

I started learning to code with freecodecamp and codecademy back in… I think summer of 2015. Once I felt comfortable and competent with front end, I started applying to jobs. My portfolio really only consisted of the basic front end challenges, so nothing super noteworthy, but just to show I knew enough to build a bit, and a willingness to learn.

I tried to learn everything I could about Javascript, and continued to branch out to try to learn some of the frameworks, like React, Node.js, and jQuery.

With the jobs that I applied to, most of the front end jobs I never heard back about. Interestingly, there were a couple of back end jobs that I applied to and was very upfront about having barely any experience with node.js, but they actually moved me onto the second round of interviews, and they acknowledged that I actually did really well on the test round, but of course moved to someone with more experience (totally understandable in these instances).