Trying to find a job

Hello, so I’m a self-taught front-end developer I’ve been studying HTML, CSS, and JavaScript for about 7 months now and I am very skilled in this field but I got sick of studying all day and I really want to get a job. I tried freelancing online but it’s not working for me because it depends on competitions and it’s hard for a starter like me to compete with other professional developers. I also tried to look for a job on indeed and similar websites but there’s no company in my country hires a developer who has less than a year of experience. What should I do? please give me an advice that can help. thanks!

3 Likes

start applying anyway, keep getting experience of the interview gig, and show what you can do

• Start applying, but just be prepared that you won’t be considered for a lot of the jobs you are applying for because of your inexperience.
  • Keep studying. Trust me: you don’t know as much as you think you do. Even if you have been doing nothing but programming 8 hours a day for 7 months, you’re still very early in your journey.
  • Keep working on improving your resume.
  • Keep working on improving your job hunting skills and your interviewing skills. Remember that getting a job is a different challenge than doing the job.
  • Build a portfolio with work samples:
    • Just because you haven’t been paid to make a web application doesn’t mean that you can’t make professional quality ones.
    • Get involved in an Open Source project. If you have a consistent history of meaningful contributions to a project, include that information (as well as a link to your GitHub profile) to your resume and portfolio.