[Frontend] Find a job abroad with 2.5 years of work experience

Hello, everyone!

I’m a 23-year-old front-end developer living in Moscow, Russia. I have 2.5 years of experience working in one of the top companies in our country. My goal is to find a job abroad in either Frontend or Fullstack. I’m currently working as a mid-level developer, but I’m open to both junior and mid-level positions.

I’d highlight the following skills of mine:

• 3 years of experience with React. One multi-page personal project with this framework (from 2022). I worked with Redux, MobX, and I have some understanding of Webpack, since I had to configure its config several times.

• Firm grasp on algorithms. I solved around 2000 problems on LeetCode, and my rating wasn’t too bad either.

• On the backend, I worked with Python Django and used to write some complex SQL queries. But honestly, I’d rather not take the backend route.

• I have a CS background, so I have some knowledge of advanced math and programming concepts.

• I have an IELTS certificate that proves that I have a C1 in English, so I wouldn’t have any problem communicating in this language.

My questions are these:

1. Should I now work on improving my CV? If so, is it better to contribute to open source or work on a new impressive project? My GitHub hasn’t been updated in almost a year, and I’m afraid it might throw a potential employer off. My goal is to get some interviews.

2. What topics should I brush on to pass the interviews themselves? Are there only “Data Structures and Algorithms” and JS-related questions? Or should I practice some system design as well?

Thank you for your time!

I mean, it looks really really good. CS background, going back there’s obviously programming experience from a young age, work experience shows good progression & plenty of experience in things that are widely used.