Full-stack web app. How best to move forward

Hi guys!

Background
So I’ve been using FreeCodeCamp for a few years now and I think it’s amazing :slight_smile: A couple of years ago I completed the majority of the front end certification but then life got in the way and sinse then I’ve had 2 years without any coding practise.
I’ve been back coding again for the last month or so and basically trying to refresh my javascript knowledge and learn React. I now feel as though I have a reasonable understanding of the basic concepts of React and feel as though I’m at the stage where I could build simple Apps with React. I have 0 experience with back-end development at this stage.

Full-stack Project…
I have an idea for a web app that I really want to build! It’s fairly complex…it should involve user authentication, an ability to store user profiles, the ability for users to message one another, search functionality (search users based on specific criteria) and a payement gateway so a user can pay for the service.
I would like to use the MERN stack (unless there is a reason not to?).
My question is…How best to go about building such an app?
Should I build the back-end first, the front end first, or work on both simultaniously?
If I was to build both front and back end simultaniously, am I going to have a very hard time learning back-end skills as I go?
Would my time better be spent building, for example, a simple full stack app like a dynamic blog before attempting this? Or can I learn effectively as I go with the bigger project?

I have several months of free time which I can dedicate to this, so for the time being, time is not a constraint.

Any advice at all greatly appreciated!

Many thanks and look forward to your replies :slight_smile:

Olly

Hello there,

I would recommend you complete at least most of the backend content in the curriculum, before trying to build a fullstack app.