Got the Job guys. 😃

Old title: Have my first job interview as a junior front end developer and I realized I don’t know something as simple as creating an images slider.

I was applying for a non coding related position at a local tech company and I got the position. But they wanted to have me on their development team instead looking at my resume, cover letter and Freecodecamp certifications(I have the first two and nearing the end of the third Front end libraries one.). I told them that I am a complete beginner that is haven’t even completed the Front End Libraries section where the main learning is involved when I do the projects. But they insisted and I agreed to have a coding interview. So they said they wanted to have a coding interview in about 1-2 days which they will call and set a time up.

As I was preparing for the interview going through the lessons again like Bootstrap, Jquery, SASS, React etc and also some crash courses on Yotube, a thought came to me what if they ask me how to create a images slider that you commonly see in many websites.

Then it hit me that I don’t know how to do that! Something that sounds as basic as that! Then I went to the YouTube to look for lessons. I thought it was going to be super easy but it wasn’t as easy as I thought especially since I almost have no time to prepare.

Then I realized how much I don’t know. :face_with_thermometer:

5 Likes

It doesn’t really matter if you do not already know how to code something specific. All that matters is your ability to problem solve and come up with solutions to specific requirements.

It’s not like your just going to be given tasks to solve you already know how to solve. That wouldn’t be much fun in the long run anyway if all you did was to code things you already knew how to code. That would become assembly line work.

7 Likes

Ok, story time.

I started working at a factory some time ago. Lowest position, stay near the production line and watch things.