Hi everyone I have a question

Im pretty new at this , but do you think I should learn HTML and CSS to the fullest, (or to the point that I really understand html and css completely) before going on to Javascript?

how did you guys do it?

:slight_smile:

greetings.

Welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

Learn enough theory so you can start building things and then the projects you build will start to determine what you need to learn next.

The list of things to learn at this stage is basically infinite, so you may as well just start building stuff and follow your interest.

2 Likes

You should understand where HTML is currently at with the new semantic elements introduced, how to write a basic HTML page by hand properly, how to properly style an HTML page including external stylesheets using the link tag, and where they go, it might be useful to understand the meta tags and header attributes of a page as well. That is all basic stuff.

This is all pretty basic and I’d say is sufficient even. This is mostly going to play out in your DOM interactinos (Document Object Model), not plain javascript that doesn’t interact with the page. So the more of HTML and CSS you know the better you will be able to utilize JavaScript to manipulate the former.

Moving forward you’re going to want to learn html forms, http, etc, etc. As @JacksonBates said theres’ no real stopping, but just understand what you’re doing when building a static web page, how to include external styles and try to memorize a little here and there as you go and you should be set.

I do not now, nor do I ever expect to, fully understand CSS.

2 Likes

Yeah, you will never have to fully understand CSS.
The reason why Bootstrap was created by the guys at twitter was so people who did heavy, back-end coding could understand and communicate with the guys doing front-end.