How do I write an effective cover letter?

Hello, world! I’m a chemical engineering graduate (graduated in 2015) trying to change my field/career to software engineering. I’ve been learning computer science and programming since the start of 2016 via books, MOOCs, and other online courses. I’ve now started to apply for internships. What can I write in my cover letter to convince employers to consider me for an internship? Please note that a lot of software engineering internships require you to be a computer science student, so you must provide strong reasons for them to hire you. Also, I don’t have any official projects under my belt. A lot of the assignments in MOOCs are mini-projects themselves, and I can’t share them on my GitHub as doing so violates the Honor Code.

Any sort of help or advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

Here’s how I usually format mine:

[Company Name]
[Position You Are Applying For]

First paragraph: Introduce yourself! Who are you? Where are you located? Are you willing to relocate? What are you currently doing / have done most recently? How did you hear about the job? (For this one, I usually mention a specific project the company has done, tell them that I really liked x and y about it, and would love to join the team on future projects.)

Second Paragraph: This is where you write a little bit more about your relevant experience. Don’t worry, if this is the beginning of your career change, explain what you did before and why you’e looking for a career change, specifically why you’re changing from x into computer science and programming. Also, list any previous skills or recent skills that you have that is relevant. It’s also up to you whether you want to mention that you were self taught. I would mention, in detail any projects you worked on before that, though.