How many hours should i code a day

Fairly new here. I was wondering how many hours I should learn to code a day( mostly on freecodecamp) to be job ready in 3 months. Assume I am a beginner. Thanks.

1 Like

No one can know this except for you. If you are an absolute beginner than 3 months is certainly an ambitious goal. Good luck.

3 Likes

bootcamps that promise job-readiness in three months usually go with 60-80 hours per week

it’s really ambitious, you are learning new stuff, a new way of thinking…
you can certainly start applying to jobs in three months, but you can’t stop learning there, applying you will sometimes get feedback on stuff you are missing, or find a technology that is frequently mentioned…

you need to keep in mind, this is a field where you need to keep learning for as long you are in it.
it’s a marathon, but it doesn’t have an end goal, to survive you need to keep running (learning) for ever
it’s better if you do one hour per day each day than if you do 80 hours in a week and then stop because you are burnt out.

you need to find your balance, learn a thing well before going to next one, do not try to learn everything at once

6 Likes

Hi,

What kind of job are you looking for?
If you are a newbie, but have a talent for this, you might get job ready (HTML5, CSS3 , Bootstrap, static websites) in 3 months if you have 2-3 hours to study each day. If you want to add (vanilla) javascript, you are more looking at full-time study.

But basically it is almost impossible to predict when you will be ready, without knowing your background, skills, motivation, … If you need money or a job, look for one you qualify for right now, and study in your spare time. Some success stories (first job as junior web dev) I have seen vary between 6 months and 2 years of study.

Cheers

1 Like

Becoming job ready in 3 months with 1-3 hours a day is very unrealistic.

1 Like