How much javaSript should i learn?

Hello,
I am a beginner web developer .
After learning CSS and HTML and R.W.D my aim is to learn 3rd most important language.
but i am not understanding how far i should learn just so i could start implying that knowledge into my websites?
What a web developer should look for when learning JS?
Is there some important part of javaScript that is used in building a website?
If so where should i look for?
Will FCC js course provide that knowledge?.
Should start and dive into that without worry?
What is better for a beginner web developer?
Your answers will help me a lot.
THANK YOU!

I am curious to hear what the other two are. :grinning:

My question would be, what are you looking to build?
Start with the end in mind.

For example, if you are just building a static restaurant page with menus and store hours, then you probably won’t need javascript.
HTML and CSS is just fine.

But let’s say you are building quizzes for an educational website.
Well, then you can use javascript to create the list of questions, record the answers and keep track of scores.

When to use javascript depends on what you are building.

If this is your first programming language, then you will want to just focus on the basics (loops, functions, conditionals, etc)
That basic knowledge transfers to other programming languages.

As for javascript specific, you will want to get comfortable with es6.

I don’t think there is just one part that is used in building websites.
JavaScript is used to add interactivity to websites.

Here are some common examples of when to use javascript in sites.

A FAQ page where the user can to open the icon and get more details.

Or maybe a countdown clock for a prize giveaway.

The FCC javascript course will provide you with a good foundation to start with.
If this is your first programming language, then it will probably take you longer for the concepts to sink it.
But that is completely normal.