How Much Should I Charge? (First Freelance Gig)

Hi Everyone,

I’m fairly new to freecodecamp.org, but I’ve been actively using FCC, and other, platforms/services to learn Web Development.

I managed to talk my way into a freelance job that entails updating an existing small business’ website. It’s a fairly straight forward assignment because the current site is a simple Wordpress theme with about 4 pages and a contact form. However, I’ll be moving it from WP and to host it elsewhere.

I’m looking into all the little details (ie. contract agreements, invoices etc.) but I’m not exactly sure how, or what, to charge for my services. Since I am new to the Web Development field I feel like it should be a reasonable low rate, but I don’t want to sell myself too short.

Any insights, or advice, on the topic would be appreciated!

Cheers! :grinning:

I charged $500 for my first website, and it sounds about the same amount of work?

4 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply!

That does sound reasonable considering the scope of work. I guess it’s hard to have a frame of reference when it’s the first one .

What kind of agreement/contract did you put in place for the work you were doing?

Hello!

Assuming your employer/client lives on the same country as you, you should take a look at how the market values your work; check what others charge for what you will be doing and try to estimate the value based on what you expect to earn weekly/monthly/yearly. Maybe you could come up with something like:

// USD currency
minimum wage per hour: $15 // I think this is around $11 for USA?
// Time spent studying and how much experience you have:
aggregated value: $10
Hourly wage total: $25
Time spent on project: 40 hours (this is something only you can determine based on how fast you're)
Total: $1000

Of course, this is just a debatable example :slight_smile:.

2 Likes

In my case, it was my brother-in-law, and so it was just a handshake deal.