How to get startetd with DevOps as Fresher

Hello Everyone! Hope you all are doing well… As a recent grad from university, I have basic knowledge of C, C++, Java, Python, SQL, and Andriod Development. I have a keen interest to learn and pursue a career in DevOps but have no idea where / what to get started with… Can anyone please guide me? It would be much appreciated

DevOps covers a lot of different topics.

Networks, operating systems, servers, databases, security, automation/scripting, deployment/pipelines, cloud services, hardware, etc.

Not sure where you should start but some fundamental knowledge about networks, operating systems, and servers might be a good start.

1 Like

DevOps is one of those borderline “buzzword” terms, as it’s heavily used, and can be used in so many contexts, it can essentially mean nothing. This doesn’t mean it’s useless, but rather you might have to “dig” for substantial information to actually understand what it is.

To me, DevOps means a specific way for companies to work. This might be a broad term, but it usually is good enough to include “real DevOps”, and ignore those just saying they are doing DevOps.

My view of DevOps comes from The Phoenix Project, which is my go-to source for anything related to DevOps. Its more of a novel that follows an IT manager who is put in charge of a critical IT project, “The Phoenix Project”, who learns “DevOps” to get the project off the ground, and deal with common issues found within some organizations around their IT operations.

It’s a fun and interesting read by itself. Its companion book, The DevOps Handbook is the actual book that lays out what DevOps is, how it works, how organizations can implement it, and provides examples from other large companies, like Etsy and Google.