How to learn code in the most efficiency way?

Hi guys, I’m a newbie to code. After my friend introduced me to FCC, I’ve been study pretty much every day. But I got to the last test of the 1st section i realized that i can not code without instructions like in the lesson. So i want to ask how you guys learned and practiced ? Should i keep re-do all the lessons or writing notes? Or put more comments in the lessons, or maybe try to build a similar website based on the lesson?

Please give me advice. Wish you all have a good weekend.

Thanks

Hello there @willq.

Learning to code takes a lot of effort as long as you want to get better at it. In programming, there’s no single answer to a problem and this in my opinion makes learning to code flexible and somewhat encouraging.

Sometimes going through a course or curriculum twice or thrice is a good approach but don’t stop there, take a step further and grab those same projects you built following instructions and now build it in your own way. It’s fine if you get stuck as you can always seek help from other developers or reference the previous projects you built.

To “constantly” get better at coding you need to consistently PRACTICE! One way to do this which I can advice is taking the #100daysofcode challenge. While doing this, you’d be doing something new everyday, learning something everyday and also keep yourself in check. You can find out about this on twitter or Instagram and you’d see how many devs (including seniors) are constantly doing this just to stay up-to-date with their stack.

Another step would be checking out sites that provide real world challenges like Frontend Mentor | Front-end coding challenges using a real-life workflow or hackerrank, pick a challenge/project and then start building and like I said it’s okay to get stuck and struggle.