How to Learn Programming – The Guide I Wish I Had When I Started Learning to

by Jacob Stopak

2 Likes

I’m really enjoying this article, still not finished.

I was wondering what people thought about the advice that we should learn how to use vim. Is it really still necessary across the board?

There was also this bit that I thought was ill informed:

Sure we could use a fancy text editor like Microsoft Word (or more likely specialized code editors like Sublime or Atom) to write and edit our code, but this is not required.

I mean, is there ever, in any universe, a situation where we should be writing code in Microsoft Word? :laughing:

Meh, I’m an emacs guy, but to be honest I pretty much use Visual Studio Code for everything now. But if I’m at a command prompt and just need to make a real quick fix to a file then I’ll fire up emacs. But do I think it is absolutely necessary to learn something like vim or emacs nowadays? Probably not. If you work on linux (or another unix-like OS) then knowing a few basic vim commands is probably a must, but for reasons other than coding.

So ya, I’d probably move step 5 to the very end and make it optional.

2 Likes

If you do any work in the terminal or on servers, then knowing VIM is very handy. At least the basics. But not all devs need it.

I think you misunderstood the point about Word. The idea is that any time we can use VIM we could use Word or an IDE, but it’s often not worth the effort.

2 Likes

Putting aside the common need to know the very basics, given at some point you’ll definitely have to interact with the application, w/r/t using it as a general editor: