How would one go about putting the html /css from codepen on a website

Hello, total noob here. I just started with the feecodecamp and built a couple of the projects under the responsive html css category. It has been a fun and valuable learning process thus far.

I just realized that I can’t seem to really transfer that code over to a blank wordpress page and have it look like it does in the codepen app. This makes me realize I really have no idea what is going on.

Can anyone help me understand the relationship to code just created in codepen, and how to turn that into your own website?

Thank You!

Hi there,

WordPress is for people who don’t really want to code so they provide themes and a block editor instead. To recreate something you did in Codepen on WordPress, you probably have to drastically change the theme or create your own, which is a whole new set of skills you have to learn.

If you have one page you want to put on the web, the easiest way is to learn how to use GitHub. Once your HTML and CSS files are on GitHub, you can activate GitHub pages.

Since Codepen does things for you like link your html and CSS files, use proper metatags in the <head> of the html, you’ll have to add that stuff before it will work on GitHub Pages.

Hi cherylm,

Thanks for the reply! I take your point about WordPress. So leaving WordPress completely out of the picture, what would be the fist step in creating a website from code I penned on codepen?

I see you mentioned GitHub. So I believe I would copy the html and css code over to github, but then what? They host it for me on their servers? Isn’t there a way to upload the html and css code to any ‘hosts’ servers (using something like filezilla) and see the resulting webpage on my own domain?

What am I missing here?

Thanks!

I suggest you set up your files in replit.com, if they work there you can then put that same file structure and have it anywhere