I love being a beginner! (Advice for beginners like me)

Hey there!

I having been learning to code for about 5 months now and the journey has been pretty awesome. Yes there are moments that are frustrating but I try to remember that it just provides an opportunity to learn and grow. Here are my tips on how I stay motivated and enjoy the journey.

It’s ok to fail
So a lot of people post on the forum getting frustrated that their code isn’t working or they were stuck on a problem for two days. It is totally normal to get stuck and not be able to see the answer. There have been plenty of challenges where I tried 15 different approaches until I found the one that worked. But that struggle gave me an opportunity to read more, listen more and explore more.

"From complete beginner to google in 6 months" (yeah ok :laughing:)
A few months back I ran into a video that had a similar title. Of course it is click bait but it is also very harmful for beginners. THIS IS NOT THE NORM. What this person in the video casually mentioned was that they had a four year Math degree from an IVY league school and tinkered a little bit with code in the past but that didn’t count. I am not a math major but I am pretty sure they teach you how to solve complex problems which sounds kind of useful for programming.

The point is not to be mad at someone who got a job in a small timeframe but don’t internalize that and think to yourself “Maybe I am not smart enough because I am 6 months in and nowhere near Google ready.” That’s just not healthy at all.

Try to enjoy the learning process