If AI will replace "grunt work", where are beginners supposed to, well, begin?

Senior software developers and engineers don’t just pop out of the ground, right? If AI replaces beginner work, where is there room for beginners?

For what it’s worth, I am a beginner. I have zero experience in the field and am still in college. My “projects” consist of things no employer would care about. But if AI takes over these kind of tasks and projects, how would I learn to build the large scale, enterprise-level projects employers do care about? You’re supposed to start small, right? But I also read about people half my age (I’m 30, so “half my age” would be teenagers) beginning their coding journey straight away with having AI create things for them. So, am I doing it wrong? Should I learn prompt engineering instead of programming/coding?

2 Likes

I fundamentally don’t think AI is in any position to replace junior dev’s yet. And I doubt it will be any time soon.

2 Likes

AI is not that good right now so theres a good chance that these things its creating are not that good, or broken. Right now, anything AI spits out needs to be double checked to make sure its actually doing what its asked

I wouldnt dich programming, but AI isnt going away so it can definitely help you in the future if you have experience with prompt engineering

1 Like

This relies on a fundamental misunderstanding that I see a lot. Entry level developers are not doing “grunt work”. I know that in many industries, there are apprentice-like roles where someone primarily is there to learn and lend an extra set of hands to the experts. Coding is not one of them.