If I finish FCC (or at least the front end part), will I be able to switch to UX design easily?

I started coding in July in python. It was interesting first, but I was lacking any plan or direction and it lead me to loose interest. When I found FCC I became interested in coding again and started doing it. I’m right now at the CSS flexbox part. But now I found out about UX design and I realized that I’m even more interested in that field than in web development. But I don’t want to just always chase after the next new shiny thing I’m currently interested in.
So this is my plan: I can only sit at the computer when my toddler is sleeping and my husband isn’t doing his own freelance work, which is maximum an hour or two a day. During this time I go through the FCC curriculum. When I’m not sitting at the computer I learn on my phone about UX design through articles and videos. Eventually if I get a developer job it will be easy to switch to UX design if I’m still interested in it.
Does it sound like a good plan? Or becoming a designer is a completely different route than becoming a web developer and I’m just wasting my time with doing one if I end up wanting to do the other one?

The common wisdom is that engineers are famously bad at UX, and UX designers are poor at understanding the engineering behind a UI. They’re different skills, but they are complementary, since with a development background, you’ll be able to understand what underlies a UI. However, it is possible to get mired in implementation details and not see the forest for the trees, so at times you’ll want to check yourself to make sure you’re wearing your UX hat, not the programmer one.

I speak only as a programmer who occasionally has to fill in a UX role (because it’s a two-person team and the other guy is also a programmer), so some extra input from UX professionals would do a lot of good here.

1 Like