Is it possible to sit university exams without attending the course?

It’s more of a curiosity rather than a goal but if at the end of this or more specifically, a structured course such as the OSSU/MIT Challenge - then if you’ve done the course work and gained the knowledge - can you not simply just sit the exams somewhere and pick up a genuine qualification?

The only problem with self study is that if you don’t think of yourself as inferior to others with a University degree, you know others will be thinking it anyway and whilst it is possible to gain work and earn a good living from being self taught as I intend to do, having a degree would be very gratifying to say the least.

Has anybody looked into it previously?

Just speaking generally, why would a university do that? That would undermine their entire paradigm. And are you planning to pay the full course cost? If not, you are asking them to undermine their entire economic viability.

And most modern universities don’t determine your grade base on final exams, but on the coursework and projects too. You have to show that you can put in the time, do the work, follow directions, and participate in a structured environment. You usually have to fight to get them to accept each transfer credit from another accredited university and you want them to accept four years of course work from an unaccredited one?

I think that any university would say that that would devalue the degree. Any program that will do what you ask is probably just a diploma mill that will take your money and print an official looking certificate with your name on it.

Sorry, maybe the world should work the way you describe, but right now it doesn’t. I can see both sides of the argument.

1 Like

Well I wasn’t actually asking if a University would allow you to take an exam at their facilities and surely Universities don’t give out the accreditation, they merely facilitate the exams for their students?