JavaScript - My Journey so far

Hi fellow learners,

I’m new to Free Code Camp and have started with Java Script 3 weeks ago.
I’m nearly finished with Basic Java Script but not with the whole JavaScript.

I don’t know how to feel about it. Honestly I understood most of the stuff lessons tried to teach but some were too damn hard. Like, when we get to solve it I couldn’t get past it without using “Solution” from get a hint.
I must’ve used it like at least 7 times through the course just to give me an idea what I need to write. Some were okay and I had similar idea as to what “Solution” would be and some were just soul crushing lol.

I don’t know if this is good.
I don’t see the point in going through all of the exercise again but I wonder how did you guys get past this feeling.
I feel like If someone was to ask me to write a solution to some of the math random exercises or recursion, I wouldn’t have a clue.

Should I just press on hoping it’ll get better with some projects later on or what do you guys recommend?

Hey! Don’t drop learning…You will see that your knowledge will grow as much as you practice…Try solving more and more problems and if you are stuck then feel free to look at the solution. Do this and after some days you will be able to catch everything

Honestly, I’d stop looking at the solutions. When something isn’t making sense, please ask here on the forum. We can help you understand better.

1 Like

Right, looking at solutions is not a good idea. As Jeremy suggests, ask the forum. Whatever question you might have, I guarantee that there are people wondering the same thing but lack the courage to ask.

I would also add that googling things can be fruitful too. And professional devs are googling things all the time. Obviously you don’t want to be googling the solution, but concepts, etc., that can be good.

And don’t be too hard on yourself. Coding is hard and JS is harder than what’s come before.

2 Likes