Job outlook for junior web designers (focused on visuals/graphic design)

I’m looking to start out on a new career path in web design but I’m a bit worried about the viability of this plan. I’m currently a teacher, but always wanted to pursue some type of visual-oriented field; just never had the time/resources to pursue it.

Graphic design is an oversaturated field, so I’ve been studying coding here and have very much enjoyed it so far.

So with that background, my questions are:
-how competitive are junior web design jobs? (Is there such a thing, or do they all require many years of experience?) I’ve tried searching and the offerings seem very limited, so I’m hoping to be wrong.
-would I be competitive if I applied to jobs with a solid design sense backed up by a portfolio, a bachelor’s degree in something entirely unrelated (humanities), and a working knowledge of html, css, and javascript?

What seems ideal to me right now is if I could get a remote job, or freelance, building individual websites for various companies or selling website templates I build (do people do that?)

I have no problem with building up my portfolio over a long timespan. It’s a hobby for me right now anyway. I’d just like to know how likely it could be for me to find a job in this field after a while.

Sorry if this is a bit of a ramble, but if you have any thoughts about any of my questions, I’d be very grateful :slight_smile:

Junior web design jobs are highly competitive, and the biggest competitor isn’t other people, its other software. Software like wordpress and wix, or any other “build your own website” software allows the average person to build a simple website for their basic needs without needing to pay anyone to do it. This automatically sucks up a lot of potential work, since you can get a good looking site with some advance features and hosting for a few dollars a month.